Home Page
Add a web site
Jeff Bull Swap Meet
Send a News Item
Site Search by Hauser Racing
2019 FIA/FIM Championships schedule
News, Coverage, Features
Latest News
John Woolfe Racing Event Coverage
OCS Paint Points Standings
Features, Interviews, Tributes
Racer Blogs Derek 10/04
WRE/Nimbus Webcam
LA Racing Parts Links
Racers' web sites
Associations, Clubs
Race calendars
Results, Reports, Info
Pictures, Video
Performance Parts, Merchandise
Tracks, Shows
Timing Data
European and UK Bests
Champions' Champions
Editor's Diary archive FAQ

APIRA Perpetual Awards for the 2017 season

Avon Park International Racing Association and are again teaming up to give readers the chance of input to the APIRA Perpetual Awards, which will be presented at the Avon Park International Racing Association, Shakespeare County Raceway and National Association of Supertwins Trophy Night on Saturday 3rd March. The votes of readers will be taken into consideration when the APIRA selection panel decides upon its winners.

For several of the 2017 season awards, shortlists have been decided for which votes can be submitted by E-Mail.

How to vote

To submit a vote, click on the link under the name for which you would like to vote. An E-Mail will automatically be generated with your chosen name in the title; all you then need to do is to hit the Send button.

If the E-Mail is not automatically generated with your chosen name in the title then simply send an E-Mail to giving the category (Iris Page Memorial Trophy etc.) as the subject of the E-Mail and the name of the person for whom you wish to vote in the body of the E-Mail.

One vote per E-Mail address will be accepted for each Award. Voting is per Award, so for example when you have voted for the Iris Page Memorial Trophy then you may of course vote for the APIRA Endeavour Trophy and so on.

Please note that blatant attempts at organising mass votes - for example asking workmates, forum members or Facebook friends to vote en masse - are easily identified and all such votes will be disallowed as they have been in previous years. Concerted attempts at vote-rigging will result in the nominee being removed from the shortlist whether or not that nominee had any knowledge or involvement.


The Iris Page Memorial Trophy is awarded to a racer, team, official, marshal or other individual who has either contributed to the sport over the last twelve months, or who has achieved their own personal goals against all the odds.

The APIRA selection panel's shortlist, in alphabetical order, is as follows:

Bert and Ernie Racing (SCR Bracket Gamblers)
Vote for Bert and Ernie Racing

Mike Lacey (Pro ET)
Vote for Mike Lacey

Dave Nicol (Super Pro ET and Jap Drag Racer Series)
Vote for Dave Nicol

Dave (Sag) Southworth (Wild Bunch)
Vote for Dave Southworth

Dave Thomas (Super Street Bike)
Vote for Dave Thomas


The Shakespeare County Raceway Award for Outstanding Achievement is awarded to a racer who achieved outstanding performance at Shakespeare County Raceway during the season.

The APIRA selection panel's shortlist, in alphabetical order, is as follows:

Dave Batcheler (Comp Bike)
Vote for Dave Batcheler

Scott Collier (Comp Bike)
Vote for Scott Collier

Allan Davies (Funny Bike)
Vote for Allan Davies

Bill Murfin (Super Pro ET)
Vote for Bill Murfin

Outlaw Anglia (as a class)
Vote for Outlaw Anglia

Rob Slater (Tri-Chevy Shootout)
Vote for Rob Slater


The APIRA / Shakespeare County Raceway Sportswoman of the Year trophy recognises the efforts of women in 2017 as racers, crew members or track officials.

The APIRA selection panel's shortlist, in alphabetical order, is as follows:

Jo Clarke (NAST / ET Bike Co-ordinator)
Vote for Jo Clarke

Nina Coombes (SCR Bracket Gamblers)
Vote for Nina Coombes

Kirsten van Croonenborgh (Supercharged Outlaws)
Vote for Kirsten van Croonenborgh

Hayley Fyfe (Wild Bunch)
Vote for Hayley Fyfe

Holly Sanders (VW Sportsman)
Vote for Holly Sanders

Philippa Turton (Wild Bunch)
Vote for Philippa Turton


The APIRA Endeavour Award is presented to a racer, team, supporter or member of the media in recognition for services rendered over the last twelve months, as well as their overall support of Avon Park International Racing Association and Shakespeare County Raceway.

The APIRA selection panel's shortlist, in alphabetical order, is as follows:

The Coulsell family (The Wild Bunch)
Vote for the Coulsell family

Andy Hadfield aka Fadster (Supercharged Outlaws)
Vote for Andy Hadfield

Steve Moxley (Media)
Vote for Steve Moxley

Dave Smith (Media)
Vote for Dave Smith

Graham Smith (Tri-Chevy Shootout)
Vote for Graham Smith

Team Wrathchild (The Wild Bunch)
Vote for Team Wrathchild


The founder of the National Drag Racing Club, Alan Wigmore was dedicated to every aspect of the sport at home as well as in America. As Chairman of the NDRC Alan got to do just about every job there was to organise as well as run race events. This Award is presented in Alan's memory to the chosen individual who has shown the same dedication, spirit and enthusiasm for the sport which Alan showed in his years in drag racing.

The APIRA selection panel's shortlist, in alphabetical order, is as follows:

Scott Cooper (VP Racing UK Drag Karts)
Vote for Scott Cooper

Phil, Brett and Jasmine Cordelle (ACU Drag Bike)
Vote for the Cordelle family

Robbie Dobbie and Dave Smart (ET Bike)
Vote for Robbie Dobbie and Dave Smart

Dave Rowlands (Shakespeare County Raceway track prep)
Vote for Dave Rowlands

Luke Stevenson (Volkswagen Drag Racing Club)
Vote for Luke Stevenson


The McDonald Racing Ireland Best Newcomer trophy, for the most promising newcomer to contest events at Shakespeare County Raceway, was presented for the first time in 2012 and is posted by Graham, Edel and Gabrielle McDonald. The shortlist for the McDonald Racing Ireland Best Newcomer trophy, in alphabetical order, is as follows:

Andy Ball (ET Bike)
Vote for Andy Ball

Ian Dance (VW Sportsman)
Vote for Ian Dance

Leah Kellett (Super Comp)
Vote for Leah Kellett

Guy King (Nostalgia Super Stock, Pro ET)
Vote for Guy King

Holley Walters (Sportsman ET)
Vote for Holley Walters

Amy, Neil and Tom Watkins (Nostalgia Super Stock)
Vote for the Watkins family